© 2023
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

WDIY's Top 10 Albums of May 2021

We took a couple months off to give our listeners a chance to really mix up our top 10 albums list, and you didn’t disappoint! May’s winners come from all different genres and styles, and most of the features are brand new to our air waves. Scroll down for the list, or click through the slideshow to check out the album art! Tune in to see who wins for June 2021.

#10- When You Found Me by Lucero debuted on January 21, 2021. Frontman Ben Nichols did what most artists did when quarantine started and decided to start working on a new album about his experience of the pandemic.

#9- Saint Cloud by Waxahatchee is an old favorite at WDIY, somehow persevering through several months of competition from other albums. The album was dropped on March 27, 2020.

#8- Yellow Coat by Matt Costa first appeared in November 2020’s ranks, and returned again in February 2021. This album was released on September 11, 2020 by California resident Matt Costa.

#7- At Home with Southern Culture on the Skids is the 19th album by none other than Southern Culture on the Skids. It was recorded and mixed entirely in frontman Rich Miller’s living room during quarantine. 

#6- Hearts Town by War and Treaty celebrates a streak on air at WDIY, returning from February 2021’s list. This is the second album released by husband and wife duo Michael Trotter Jr. and Tanya Blount. It was released on September 25, 2020. 

#5- Obviously is the 7th studio album released by multi-genre Lake Street Dive. The album was set for the fall of 2020 before being pushed back to March 12, 2021. The tone of the album ranges fromclimate change to womanhood and female empowerment, and even failed relationships. 

#4- Private Lives by Low Cut Connie is a double-feature 17-song album that was released on October 16, 2020. The rock and roll Philadelphia native band has Adam Weiner, the frontman, as the only consistent member since formation in 2010. 

#3- Open Door Policy is the 8th studio album by American band The Hold Steady. It was released on February 19, 2021, through the band's own label Positive Jams. Despite being a recent release, the album was recorded in December 2019 in New York. 

#2- Hunter and the Dog Star by Edie Brickell & New Bohemians dropped on February 19, 2021. It marked the 5th album for the band total, and the 2nd album since their return in 2018 after a 12 year hiatus. The themes of the album focus on self-expression, loyalty, companionship and love. 

#1- J.T. by Steve Earle & the Dukes was released on January 4, 2021. The entire album is a tribute to Earle's oldest son, Justin Townes Earle, who died of an accidental drug overdose on August 20, 2020. The release date would have been his 39th birthday. All of the songs except one were either written or co-written by Justin Townes Earle.

Related Content