© 2024
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

WDIY's Top 10 Albums of August 2020

These are the top ten most played albums on WDIY for the month of August. Click through the slideshow to follow along.
#10- All Together Now by OK Go was released on May 13th, 2020 after lead vocalist Damian Kulash and his wife fell ill with COVID. The band wrote and recorded the music video for "All Together Now" over two months from their quarantined homes as a tribute to the healthcare workers. Proceeds from the release went to Partners in Health.

#9- i,i by Bon Iver is the fourth studio album by American indie folk band. It was released track by track every hour on August 8 into August 9, 2019. A physical release followed on August 30. The band created the album to mimic fall, with i,i completing a seasonal cycle that began with For Emma, Forever Ago (2007) mimicking winter.

#8- Gypsy by Eilen Jewell was released on August 16, 2019. For her seventh album, she's combined the personal narratives she usually tells with a taste of protest and rebellion statement songs.

#7- The New Abnormal is the sixth studio album by American rock band The Strokes, released on April 10, 2020. It was their first album in seven years. Writing sessions for The New Abnormal dated as far back as 2016. The Strokes began performing songs from the album for the first time at different shows in 2019, before revealing the album's tracklist and cover art in early 2020.

#6- Good Souls Better Angels by Lucinda Williams was released on April 24, 2020. It was originally announced in February along with the track "Man Without a Soul,” a critique of Donald Trump.

#5- The Juice by G. Love & Special Sauce was released on January 17, 2020. This alternative hip hop band is straight out of Philadelphia and features Garrett Dutton, better known as G. Love, Jeffrey Clemens on drums, and Jim Prescott on bass.

#4- The Land That Time Forgot by Chuck Prophet was released on May 15th, 2020. Chuck Prophet, a California native, recorded one E.P. and eight albums with the American psychedelic/desert rock group Green on Red before he released his first solo record Brother Aldo 1990, which was not available in the United States until 1997.

#3- Thrashing Thru the Passion is the seventh studio album by American indie rock band the Hold Steady, which was released on August 16, 2019.This album marks the return to the line-up of keyboardist Franz Nicolay, who had left the group in 2008.

#2- XOXO by The Jayhawks was released on July 10, 2020, which is their 11th album to date. This American alternative country band from Minneapolis has been around since the mid-1980’s with only a brief hiatus in 2005 to 2009.

#1- Rough and Rowdy Ways is the 39th studio album (yes, 39th) by American singer-songwriter Bob Dylan, and it was released on June 19, 2020. It’s Dylan's first album of original songs since his 2012 release Tempest, and features contributions from several musicians, including Fiona Apple, Benmont Tench and Alan Pasqua.

Related Content