© 2022
bannerwmic4.png
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00
0:00
Available On Air Stations
WDIY has resumed broadcasting on 93.9 FM in the Easton/Phillipsburg area at reduced power. We are continuing to make equipment repairs to restore full power.

Photos: The Ice Rink at SteelStacks Grand Opening

ArtsQuest held the grand opening and ribbon cutting of the new Ice Rink at SteelStacks on Tuesday. Brief speeches were made by Anne Baum, president of Lehigh Valley Reilly Children's Hospital; J. William Reynolds, Bethlehem mayor; and Kassie Hilgert, ArtsQuest President and CEO. Baum then cut the ribbon and opened the rink for the first children's skate session which featured MeLVin, the mascot of the Lehigh Valley Phantoms.

The rink, located on the lawn of the Levitt Pavilion in south Bethlehem, is open daily, including holidays, through January 1. Tickets are $9 for 14+ year-olds, $7 for 13 and younger, $6 for ArtsQuest members, and $6 per person for group rentals of 15 or more. Hockey skates are available for rent for $6 per person.

There will be a number of themed nights including:

  • Elf Night - Wednesday, November 30
  • Pride Night - Thursday, December 1
  • Superhero Skate - Sunday, December 4
  • Sensory-Friendly Skate - Tuesday, December 6
  • Star Wars Skate - Tuesday, December 6
  • Sensory-Friendly Skate - Wednesday, December 7
  • Disco/Soul Train Night - Wednesday, December 7
  • Emo Night - Thursday, December 8
  • Skate with St. Nick - Sunday, December 11
  • Mascot Skate - Sunday, December 11
  • Sensory-Friendly Skate - Tuesday, December 13
  • 90s Night - Tuesday, December 13
  • Sensory-Friendly Skate - Wednesday, December 14
  • Phantoms Night - Wednesday, December 14
  • La Mega Latin Night - Thursday, December 15
  • Frozen Skate - Sunday, December 18
  • Sensory-Friendly Skate - Tuesday, December 20
  • Taylor Swift Night - Tuesday, December 20
  • Sensory-Friendly Skate - Wednesday, December 21
  • 80s Night - Wednesday, December 21
  • Y2K Pop Night - Thursday, December 22

The rink features freshly made ice which ArtsQuest says will be maintained throughout the day. The Ice Rink at SteelStacks is presented by Lehigh Valley Reilly Children's Hospital. More information is available here.

Shamus is WDIY's Membership and Development Director, responsible for managing the station's membership activities, grant writing, public relations, and online activities. He is also the producer and host of Tape Swap Radio.
Related Content